Post: PLCC-44 Package: Dimensions, Pinout and Socket

PLCC-44 Package: Dimensions, Pinout and Socket

The PLCC-44 package is a square plastic leaded chip carrier with 44 J-leads at the standard 1.27 mm PLCC pitch, registered under JEDEC MS-018, variation AC. It’s the package most 8051-family microcontrollers shipped in through the 1990s and 2000s — the Atmel/Microchip AT89C51 and AT89S51 are the clearest documented examples, used throughout this page for pinout. PLCC-44 is also the largest PLCC size still commonly specified in new designs.

Key takeaways

  • JEDEC MS-018, variation AC. Body span 16.51–16.66 mm (0.650–0.656 in) square, lead pitch 1.27 mm, overall height up to 4.57 mm.
  • PLCC-44 doesn’t have one fixed pinout — it depends on the IC. The 8051 microcontroller family (AT89C51/AT89S51) is a well-documented example, used below.
  • Four corner positions are unconnected on the 8051 PLCC-44 pinout, evenly spaced 11 pins apart — the same corner-skip pattern seen on PLCC-28, just scaled up.
  • Both the through-hole and surface-mount Adam Tech PLCC-44-AT sockets are discontinued; Preci-Dip’s 540-88-044-17-400 SMD socket is a current, in-stock alternative.
  • Standard PLCC-44 sockets are rated 1 A per contact — check that figure before routing shared current through more than one pin.

PLCC-44 Dimensions

Microchip’s own 44-Lead PLCC Package Outline drawing (package code PJ), registered under JEDEC MS-018 variation AC, gives a 0.653 in x 0.653 in nominal body with a 0.050 in (1.27 mm) pitch and a maximum height of 0.180 in (4.57 mm).

ParameterValueNote
JEDEC outlineMS-018, variation ACEquivalent to MO-047-AC
Lead count44 
Body-only span (D1/E1)16.51–16.66 mm (0.650–0.656 in), square 
Lead-tip span (D/E)17.40–17.65 mm (0.685–0.695 in), square 
Lead pitch (e)1.27 mm (0.050 in) BSC 
Lead width (b)0.33–0.53 mm (0.013–0.021 in) 
Overall height (A)4.19–4.57 mm (0.165–0.180 in) 
Standoff (A1)2.29–3.05 mm (0.090–0.120 in) 

A distributor listing for the Microchip AT89S51-24JU gives its body as 16.66 x 16.66 x 4.06 mm — consistent with the D1/E1 body span above, with the height figure sitting just under the datasheet’s stated maximum, which is normal part-to-part variation within tolerance.

Worked example: at the 1.27 mm pitch, a 0.53 mm maximum lead width leaves a 0.74 mm minimum gap between adjacent lead edges (1.27 mm − 0.53 mm) — identical to every other PLCC size, since lead width and pitch are fixed across the family regardless of lead count. A 0.6–0.7 mm solder pad keeps a hand-soldered joint inspectable without bridging.

PLCC-44 Pinout

PLCC-44 has no universal pinout — function depends on the IC — but the 8051 microcontroller family gives a clearly documented, verifiable example. The base AT89C51/AT89S51 uses the standard 40-pin DIP signal order; PLCC-44 carries the same 40 signals plus 4 unconnected corner positions.

PLCC-44 pinFunctionPLCC-44 pinFunction
1NC (corner)23NC (corner)
2P1.024P2.0/A8
3P1.125P2.1/A9
4P1.226P2.2/A10
5P1.327P2.3/A11
6P1.428P2.4/A12
7P1.529P2.5/A13
8P1.630P2.6/A14
9P1.731P2.7/A15
10RST32PSEN
11P3.0/RXD33ALE/PROG
12NC (corner)34NC (corner)
13P3.1/TXD35EA/VPP
14P3.2/INT036P0.7/AD7
15P3.3/INT137P0.6/AD6
16P3.4/T038P0.5/AD5
17P3.5/T139P0.4/AD4
18P3.6/WR40P0.3/AD3
19P3.7/RD41P0.2/AD2
20XTAL242P0.1/AD1
21XTAL143P0.0/AD0
22VSS (GND)44VCC

This mapping is anchored to values published directly in Atmel/Microchip’s own AT89C51RB2/RC2 datasheet, which gives an explicit DIL-to-LCC pin correlation table: VSS at DIP pin 20 maps to PLCC pin 22, VCC at DIP pin 40 maps to PLCC pin 44, and Port 0 (P0.0–P0.7) at DIP pins 39–32 maps to PLCC pins 43–36. The remaining pins follow the standard 8051 DIP signal order around the same evenly spaced, 4-corner PLCC layout. Confirm pin function against the exact part’s own datasheet before laying out a board — enhanced 8051 variants with extra peripherals (SPI, ADC, additional ports) reassign some of these positions.

PLCC-44 Sockets

As with PLCC-32, the classic board-mount socket for this size is gone in both mounting styles, while alternatives from other manufacturers remain available.

ParameterAdam Tech PLCC-44-AT / -AT-SMTPreci-Dip 540-88-044-17-400
MountingThrough hole or SMT (both discontinued)Surface mount
Mating pitch0.050 in (1.27 mm)1.27 mm
Contact material / platingnot stated by this distributor listingPhosphor bronze, tin
Current ratingnot stated by this distributor listing1.0 A
Voltage ratingnot stated by this distributor listing100 V / 150 V
Contact pressurenot stated by this distributor listing1.5 N min per contact
Mechanical lifenot specified50 cycles min
Housing materialnot stated by this distributor listingGlass-fiber-reinforced PPS
Lifecycle statusObsolete / no longer manufactured (both variants)In stock, currently available

Note the mechanical-life figure: Preci-Dip’s 540 series is rated for a minimum of 50 insertion cycles, which is adequate for occasional chip swaps on a bring-up board but far below a dedicated test socket’s 10,000-cycle rating. If a design needs frequent reprogramming cycles rather than occasional service swaps, a test/burn-in-grade socket is the better fit, not a board-mount part like this one.

Choosing Between Direct Solder and a Socket

  • Production board, part won’t be swapped after assembly → solder the PLCC-44 directly; skip the socket’s added height and contact resistance.
  • Bring-up board, or the part is a field-programmable microcontroller or CPLD reprogrammed occasionally by hand → a board-mount socket rated for the mounting style and current needed, sourced and lifecycle-checked first.
  • Frequent reprogramming, test, or burn-in use → a dedicated test socket rated for a stated high mating-cycle count, not a board-mount part rated for only tens of cycles.

FAQ

What are the dimensions of a PLCC-44 package?

Per JEDEC MS-018 variation AC, the PLCC-44 body span is 16.51–16.66 mm (0.650–0.656 in) square, with a 1.27 mm lead pitch and an overall height up to 4.57 mm.

Does PLCC-44 have a standard pinout?

No — pin function depends on the IC. The 8051 microcontroller family (AT89C51/AT89S51) is a documented example, with pin 22 as ground, pin 44 as VCC, and four unused corner pins spaced 11 positions apart.

What socket fits a PLCC-44 package?

Any socket built to JEDEC MS-018 variation AC at 1.27 mm pitch. Adam Tech’s through-hole and SMT PLCC-44-AT sockets are both discontinued; Preci-Dip’s 540-88-044-17-400 SMD socket is a current in-stock alternative.

What is the lead pitch on a PLCC-44?

1.27 mm (0.05 in), the same fixed pitch used across every JEDEC PLCC size from 20 to 84 leads.

How many corner pins are unused on a PLCC-44?

Four, on 8051-family parts — evenly spaced 11 positions apart around the package. Other PLCC-44 ICs may use those positions differently, so check the specific datasheet.

The Decision

Treat the PLCC-44 the way you would any other PLCC size: JEDEC MS-018 variation AC gives fixed, trustworthy dimensions, but pin assignment is entirely part-specific — verify it against the exact IC’s datasheet rather than assuming every 8051-family part matches the mapping shown here. For sourcing, check socket lifecycle and mechanical-life rating together: the familiar Adam Tech board-mount part is gone in both mounting styles, and its replacement’s 50-cycle rating is fine for occasional service but not for a design that gets reprogrammed often.

Facebook
Pinterest
Twitter
LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Newsletter

Signup our newsletter to get update information, news, insight or promotions.

Latest Article

Related Article

VSSOP Package: Very Thin Shrink SOP

VSSOP (Very Thin Shrink Small Outline Package) is Texas Instruments’ name for what most other manufacturers call MSOP — but